The Altarpiece

What if we begin writing down what we are grateful for?  Each day, take some time, reflect and make a few notes.  Not only will we be preparing for the altarpiece, we might just find ourselves in a whole new state of mind. 

I really like Rebecca’s style of work where she has writing under glass.  What if we each write our list of gratitude on the side edges of the boxes and cover them in glass?  I see the edges painted and the words in gold ink.

I have some other ideas and will sketch them out and bring them to our workday on Sunday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Altarpiece

  1. katrinadoran says:

    Today, I am grateful for my vision.
    I am grateful I have such an outstanding studio.
    I am grateful I have such a loving and generous family.
    I am grateful for my teachers.
    I am grateful for all my dedicated students.
    I am grateful to be alive.
    I am grateful for good food and water.
    I am grateful for air conditioning!
    I am grateful for having such lovely clients.
    I am grateful for my husband loving me all the ways I am and all the ways I am not.
    I am grateful for my two cats.
    I am grateful for my sister and her kids and their generosity with my parents.
    I am grateful to be creating a show with two talented, courageous, strong women.
    I am grateful I get to spend my life making things.
    I am grateful to have so many dear friends.
    I am grateful I have such easy access to supplies and materials.

  2. artpaw says:

    I like this idea. I have played around with gratitude journals before, however having a piece of art that needs to be informed by such a list is really going to get me to follow through and write the lists:)

    I am grateful for healthy dogs
    I am grateful for clean water.
    I am grateful for my grand parent’s pecan trees
    I am grateful for clients that pay me to make art every day
    I am grateful for so many talented artists in my life
    I am grateful for Lola
    I am grateful for my husband’s humor and his talent
    I am grateful for a car that runs
    I am grateful to live in a nation that values women
    I am grateful that my mother worked when I was a child
    I am grateful for technology even when it gives me trouble, like today:)
    I am grateful for Apryl & Katrina

Leave a Reply

