Titty Trumps Squid

Yesterday, I woke from a dream and found myself alive with the possibility of a new milagro.  We are one week out from delivering works for the show and this dream was not in my plans.  Yet, there I was creating away, each element falling perfectly into place and at the end of the day, a finished piece.

I have been unable to work for more than a month, dealing with unexpected health issues.  My commissions, my housework, my artwork for the show, all of it brought to a standstill as I learned to let go of my old ways of pushing through in that NO MATTER WHAT kind of thing that I do.

Part of our show includes what we are grateful for and I am indeed grateful for the generosity of my clients, family and friends.  My life seems quite lovely inside of their kindness.

So many women have the experience of dealing with breast cancer.  Many of these women are my dear friends and students.  My dream inspired me to make a breast milagro.  At first, I thought I would make the breast using pink smalti from my studio and then I was off to the Rock Barrell in search of treasures.  I knew I wanted some red garnets or glass for an internal organ milagro, I did not know I wanted rose quartz for the breast milagro.  It’s often funny, what we find, when we just open up to possibility.

I was a bit giddy all day as I worked.  I love my work and it had been so long since I was able to do anything at all.  The giddiness began to show up in the title for this piece as TITTY-TITTY-TA-TA.  It sounds fun and silly rolling off the tongue.  Then my husband, in his wisdom, pointed out that TA-TA means good-bye and I might as well call the piece TUMOR.  None of this related to my intention for the piece at all.  Women have so many issues related to their breasts; size, shape, and cancer.  Most women, at some point in their lives do not like the breasts they have.  My intention for this milagro is that women love the breasts they have, and they love the ones they have lost.  The title is now simply, BREAST MILAGRO.

Titty Trumps Squid refers to the energy of letting this work emerge.  As I said earlier, it was not a part of my plan.  My plan for yesterday was to finish the milagro about ink, tattoos and printing.  I am glad to have followed the muse.

A portion of the profits from the sale of this piece will be donated to the Susan G. Komen For the Cure Organization.  Commissions will also be  considered as I think it might be nice to have a brown titty made with tiger-eye and gold….and then there’s always next year’s show!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Titty Trumps Squid

  1. artpaw says:

    Simple and bold! I really love this one. Funny how some of them just create themselves so quickly.

Leave a Reply

